Best albums of 2016


Western Skies Motel – Settlers (Lost Tribe Sound)
Jóhann Jóhannsson – Orphée (Deutsche Grammophon)
Ceeys – The Grunewald Church Sessions (1631)
Ian William Craig – Centres  (130701)
Willamette – Diminished Composition (Scissor Tail Editions)
Colin Stetson – Sorrow (52Hz)
Aaron Martin & Leonardo Rosado  – In the dead of night when everyone is asleep (Fluid Audio)
glacis – love, if you love me, lie beside me now (TVEI)
Antonymes – (For now we see) through a glass deamly (Hidden Shoal recordings)
Julien Marchal -Insight II (1631 Recordings)
Jenny Hval- Blood Bitch (Sacred Bones)
Offthesky – Silent went the sea (Eilean)
Library Tapes – Feathers (1631 Recordings)
Stefano Guzzetti – Leaf (Home Normal)
Dead Light – Dead Light (Village Green)
Peter Broderick – Partners (Erased Tapes)
Sophie Hutchings -Wide Asleep (Preservation)
Talons’ – Work Stories (self released)
Julianna Barwick – Will (Dead Oceans)
Richard J. Birkin – Vigils (Reveal Records)
Benoît Pioulard – The Benoît Pioulard Listening Matter (Kranky)
Tambour – Chapitre II (Moderna)
Jason Van Wyk – Attachment (Eilean)
Vitaly Beskrovny – Imperfect  (Preserved Sound)
Cyril Secq / Orla Wren – Branches (Dronarivm)
M. Ostermeier – Tiny Birds (Home Normal)
Matt Christensen – Honeymoons (Miasmah)
Ben Lukas Boysen – Spells (Erased Tapes)
Eluvium – False Readings On (Temporary Residence)
Ólafur Arnalds – Island Songs (Mercury Classics)


Best 30 albums of 2015


Colin Stetson and Sarah Neufeld – Never Were The Way She Was (Constellation)

Sean McCann – Ten Impressions for Piano & Strings (Root Strata)

From The Mouth Of The Sun – Into The Well (Fluid Audio)

Ian William Craig – Cradle for the Wanting(Recital

Björk – Vulnicura (One Little Indian)

Michael Price – Entanglement (Erased Tapes)

Hior Chronik – Taking The Veil (Kitchen. Label)

Julia Kent – Asperities (the Lealf Label)

Christina Vantzou – no.3 (Kranky)

Sufjan Stevens – Carrie & Lowell (Asthmatic Kitty)

Max Richter – The Leftovers – Music From The HBO Series – Season One (Silva Screen)

Esmerine – Lost Voices (Constellation)

Rafael Anton Irisarri – A Fragile Geography (Room40)

Fjordne – Moonlit Invocations (White Paddy Mountain)

Bill Seaman – f (noir) (Eilean)

Anne Garner – Be Life (Slowcraft)

Moon Ate the Dark – II (Sonic Pieces)

Yair Elazar Glotman – Études (Subtext)

Perils – S/T (Desire Paths)

The Declining Winter – Home for Lost Souls (Home Assembly Music)

Jenny Hval – Apocalypse, Girl (Sacred Bones)

Offthesky and Pleq – A Thousand Fields (Infraction)

Peter Gregson – Touch (Sono Luminus)

Lubomyr Melnyk – Rivers and Streams (Erased Tapes)

Slow Meadow – S/T (Hammock Music)

Le Berger – Music for Guitar & Patience (Home Normal)

Zelienople – Show us the Fire (Immune)

Anneli Drecker – Rocks & Straws (Rune Grammofon)

James Blackshaw – Summoning Suns (Important)

Jeremy Young & Aaron Martin – A Pulse Passes from Hand to Hand (White Paddy Mountain)

Best 30 albums of 2013


Paul Jebanasam – Rites (Subtext)

Lubomyr Melnyk – Corollaries (Erased Tapes)

Ian Hawgood & Friends – Wolven (a Modern Interpretation) (Hibernate/Komu)

Chantal Acda – Let your Hands be my Guide (Gizeh)

Colleen – The Weighing of The Heart (Second Language)

woodworkings – day breaks the morning shapes we speak (Own)

Grouper – The Man who Died in his Boat (kranky)

Trouble Books – Love At Dusk (Mie Music)

Felicia Atkinson – Visions / Voices (Umor Rex)

Gareth Dickson – Collected Recordings (12k)

John Davis- Ask the Dust (Students of Decay)

Seaworthy + Taylor Deupree – Wood, Winter, Hollow (12k)

Nadia Sirota – Baroque (Bedroom Community)

Eluvium – Nightmare Ending (Temporary Residence Ltd)

Haxan Cloak – Excavation (TriAngle)

Segue – Pacifica (Silent Season)

Gabriel Saloman – Soldier’s Requiem (Miasmah)

Julia Kent – Character (The Leaf Label)

Jared Smith – Fjall (Own)

Kaboom Karavan – Hokus Pokus (Miasmah)

Benjamin Fingers – Listen To My Nerves Hum (Time Released Sound)

Lee Noble – Ruiner (Bathetic)

Sarah Neufeld – Hero Brother (Constellation)

Roly Porter – Life Cycle of a Massive Star (Subtext)

Aaron Martin / Christoph Berg – Day Has Ended (Dronarivm)

Witxes – A Fabric of Beliefs (Denovali)

Alessandro Cortini – Forse 1 and Forse 2 (Important)

Rauelsson – Vora (Sonic Pieces)

Secret Pyramid – Movements of Night (Students of Decay)

Nils Frahm – Spaces (Erased Tapes)

Best Albums of 2012


Greg Haines – Digressions (Preservation)

NHK’Koyxeи – Dance Classics Vol.II (Pan)

Zelienople – The World is a House on Fire (Type)

Actress – R.I.P (Honest Jon’s)

Pye Corner Audio – Sleep Games (Ghost Box)

Bee Mask – Vaporware / Scanops (Room 40)

Silent Servant – Negative Fascination (Hospital Productions)

Bvdub – Serenity/Don’t Say You Know (Darla)

The Caretaker – Patience (After Sebald) (History Always Favours The Winners)

Machinefabriek – Secret Photographs (Important)

Ólafur Arnalds & Nils Frahm – Stare (Erased Tapes)

Shackleton – Music For the Quiet Hour / The Drawbar Organ EPs (Woe to the Septic Heart)

Vessel – Order of Noise (Tri Angle)

Simon Scott – Below Sea Level (12k)

Raime – Quarter Turns Over a Living Line (Blackest Ever Black)

Olan Mill – Paths (Facture)

Kane Ikin – Sublunar (12k)

Witxes – Sorcery/Geography (Humanist Records)

Alex Durlak – Seconds (Komino)

Valgeir Sigurðsson – Architecture Of Loss (Bedroom Community)

Emptyset – Collapsed (Raster-Noton)

Panabrite – The Baroque Atrium (Preservation)

Mount Eerie – Clear Moon/Ocean Roar (P.W. Elverum & Sun)

Sujo + Sun Hammer – Fistula (Inam Records)

Ike Yard – Ike Yard (Reissue) (Desire)